Posted by: Liza Rosenberg | March 13, 2010

Ode to a working freelance writer…

I am a freelance writer – oh how I love to write
Stringing words together, morning, noon and night
It took me quite a while, to give this path a go
Afraid I’d never make it, and that they’d all say no

I started very slowly, beginning with a blog
Years of dreary office work had left me in a fog
I wanted to create; I needed something more
To talk about my work, and not sound like a bore

It’s now a few years later; I’ve amassed a bunch of clips
Some are just a tad mundane, while others – quite a trip
From politics to hummus – sometimes they overlap
Perhaps you’ll disagree with me, but please don’t say it’s crap

As things stand right now, I’ve got some time to fill
Peruse the stuff I’ve written – I might just fit your bill
My writing’s rather good, or so some people say
I’d love to do some work for you – but only if you pay

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Responses

  1. LOL. Love it!

  2. Haha – that is great – i love it !!! I feel ya on the wanting more ! Great mix of reality and holding on to your dreams! I feel ya there !!!

  3. Nice one Liza, excellent!

  4. Contrived Poem!

    When all is done and said
    My writing ain’t half bad;
    Writer’s block’s not a dread
    At least my column’s read –
    My two cents ‘bout each fad…
    Complacent, happy, sad…
    Sensible, wise… or mad!
    More fun I’ve never had…
    There’s nothing more I’d add!

  5. excellent poem – it put a smile on my face.

  6. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by lizathewriter: New blog post – “Ode to a working freelance writer…”: http://bit.ly/bhGM36

  7. Beth: Thanks, m’dear! I thought you might! I even had you in my mind when I wrote it!

    epicswife: Thank you! There’s a fine line between reality and dreams sometimes. Wouldn’t be be great if we could be successfully merge reality and dreams? At least I’m managing to bring them closer together.

    Max: Thank you! Please start blogging again. Your blog was so great!

    Tanja: Very nice!

    HSaboMilner: Thank you! If I’ve put a smile on your face, does that mean my work is done here and I can go home now? 🙂

  8. What a great poem, I love it. I am assuming you work from home doing your writings. Isn’t it such a blessing to be out of the office setting and be able to work from your own personal home surrounded by things that inspire you. I also work at home, however, I am not a writer, I create party favors for weddings and special events and I just love the freedom of working from home.


Leave a Reply

Categories

