Posted by: Liza Rosenberg | November 21, 2009

Paths we cannot change…

Fleeting thoughts of you are swirling ’round my mind.
Specks of memories in and out – I never thought I’d find.
Though time has passed; the pain has dulled – you’re never far away.
Reminding me of what was lost, or that you’ll never see today.

I think of all the joy you brought, just by being you.
I think of all the lives you touched, those you never knew.
I think of all you could have done, had it not gone all awry.
I think of all the tears we shed, when you said goodbye.

We tried to change your path; the course your life would take.
With every thought of losing you – my heart would simply break.
But these are paths we cannot change. What will be – will be.
And wondering what might have been – it does no good, you see.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine


Responses

  1. What a beautifully written tribute. Your deep love and deep loss come through in every line.

    I’m so sorry for your pain, and for the loss that put it there.

  2. Thank you, Robin. I wasn’t even intending to write something like this when I opened up a new document last week. It just came out, and no one was more surprised than I was. It unleashed all sorts of feelings, and I debated for a while as to whether or not to post it here.


Leave a comment

Categories