Posted by: Liza Rosenberg | January 8, 2009

From blogger to intrepid audio diarist for the BBC

I’ll be the first one to admit that I probably don’t have as much self-confidence as I should, so when I discovered a particular email in my inbox two days ago, the first thing I did (after turning to my husband and telling him in a shaky voice about the email’s contents), I forwarded it to Lisa to ask if it was real.

“Yup, it’s for real,” she said. “Go for it!”

So I did.

For the next week or so, I’ll be filing a series of audio diary entries for a BBC World Service radio show called “The World Today“. I’ve been asked to record two to three-minute entries about life against the backdrop of the situation down south, to talk about what Israelis are thinking and feeling, etc. My first diary entry was broadcast last night/early this morning, and my second one is currently sitting in an inbox in London, waiting to be aired on one of tomorrow’s shows.

BBC World Service has launched a webpage with a number of links to different Israel-Gaza-related stories, and if you scroll down under Wednesday January 7th, you should see my name, with a link to my entry as well as a link to this blog. My entry is followed by a response provided by Gazan business consultant Sami Abdel Shafi, who I hope is managing to keep safe through all of this madness.

I don’t see any place on the World Service webpage (which I imagine will be published everyday) where people can leave comments, so feel free to leave them here (just make sure you understand the rules…) . I’ll post more links as I get them.

Watch this space…

********

Update: If you leave a comment, please be gentle! This is the first time I’ve ever done anything like this before, so I’m not going to sound like a seasoned news reporter.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine


Responses

  1. That is amazing! Kol hakavod, Liza!

  2. Liza, could you please try to speak more clearly? I felt you were mumbling a bit.

    Good that they are giving us some air time.

  3. Sounds great to me!
    You’re in some fine company on that BBC page!

  4. The first two posts were wonderful! I think you really caught on and found your voice in the second one! So glad that it is being shared world wide… it’s a wonderful voice sharing important insight!!!

    Proud of you, Liza!:-)

  5. Nice one, dear. Goodonya.

  6. Hi, Liza! Thanks for the link to my blog–I really appreciate it. And congratulations on the new gig! I look forward to hearing your reports–I think they’ll be fantastic. I’ll be sure to check back.

    Best,
    Wendi Aarons

  7. Liza, this is fantastic! What an opportunity. I really connected with your second broadcast.

    Kol HaKavod!

    Rachel

  8. Liza, I wanted to say I saw your blog linked in Lisa’s post, which I found thru Sandmonkey. Whew.

    Then to see this, wow! Good on ya!!!

  9. […] Here is an interesting post From blogger to intrepid audio diarist for the BBC. […]

  10. […] World Today“. The answer was, of course, yes. I blogged about that initial contact in this blog entry, the audio diary clips can be found by clicking this link to the BBC World Service website, and the […]

  11. […] for different publications, written articles for different websites and print publications and been “discovered” by the BBC World Service (and didn’t actually believe the email was real at first). I’ve even managed get writing gigs […]


Leave a comment

Categories